Nigerian Music Creatives on Navigating the New Normal

About two weeks into the COVID-induced lockdown back in April, I spoke to Joeboy, Crayon, Blaqbonez, Dunnie & Jinmi Abdul on how they've been dealing with navigating the new normal as music creatives.

*It’s for many reasons that I didn’t put this up back in April as I had bigger plans for this particular report. Sincere apologies it didn’t come earlier but here we go anyway.

Not a part of the music industry has been left unscathed following the Coronavirus-induced lockdown aimed at managing spread of the virus. For Nigerian music creatives ranging from Artists to Disk Jockeys, not only does physical activities, gatherings make up an indispensable part of their endeavour, their means of livelihood predominantly leans upon those. The Live entertainment sector has since recorded a pause of its core operations, resulting in colossal losses, and inherently affecting everyone else in the value chain including production companies, labels, artists, DJs etc. 

Music creatives, like everyone else have resorted to digital - largely Live streaming via social media and content creation via inventions like Tiktok, Triller etc as sustenance measure prior to the pandemic blowing over. This has however helped artists stay relevant, sufficing as an ancillary means of connecting with fans, beefing up their stream count and revenue in the absence of physical promotion and live performances.

However, for non-artists like producers, disk jockeys etc without streaming revenue to look forward to, the situation reads awfully different.

“Gidi Fest ought to be the biggest opportunity of my career so far, having chased this opportunity for 2 years. I have already invested in preparing a set, mobilized my team for styling, press rounds etc ahead of the festival and suddenly, all these dashed to the wind. I honestly don’t even know how I’m taking it” said DJ Venum, Guiness World Record honouree for ‘World’s Longest Playing DJ’ after playing music non-stop for 15 days in August 2018.

“I earn mostly through events, shows and now there are none of those anymore, which leaves me in a terrible place as there’s little I can do with myself and skill. It’s painful as I’ve been stuck indoors these past weeks, trying to explore other forms of creativity like producing, sampling etc. It has terribly affected my mind as well, apart from my finances”, DJ Venum continues. 

As the pandemic brings about disruption of most activities that typifies being an artist especially in emerging markets like Nigeria, ranging from recording, marketing & promotion, touring, shoots, rehearsals and of course live performances, I speak to some players in this space for a glimpse of how they’ve been dealing with trying to navigate these tricky waters.

How Has COVID-19 Affected Your Plans Slated For the New Year?

Joeboy: It has delayed a bunch of my plans for some releases and tours I’ve been working really hard on. Over 10 international shows I was billed to perform have been cancelled as the situation worsened. I however find solace with the fact that it's a situation beyond everyone; the entire world is going through it and what’s left for us individuals will be to readjust and look for possible good out of this mess.

Dunnie: Well, my plan for the first quarter this year was to focus more on production and songwriting. Luckily, I’ve been able to do that from my home studio even before the pandemic worsened, so, work wise, it's been business as usual.

BlaqBonez: Honestly, my whole plan is in disarray as I intended to go on tour in April then drop an album afterwards but right now, I barely have an idea when or how to drop new music as it’s been a hassle promoting the one I already put out. I’m not sure how smart it is to keep churning out new music until this subsides to an extent; but tell you what, this sorely hurt my tour and release plans.

Jinmi Abdul: This pandemic really has an effect on my career in several ways, leaving me with no choice but to upturn the plans, strategies already laid out for 2020. Typically, my career is divided into quarters, having reserved the first to early second quarter for creating. Now, we’ve been unable to shoot music videos or content around previously released records. The big events during the Easter period are not happening as well, meaning less income especially as performances make up most of it.

What Opportunity Have You Been Looking Forward to But Have Been Thwarted by the Pandemic?

Crayon: Honestly, the fact that I don’t get to see and perform my new singles Shima & Mo Bad is saddening. Seeing events I was booked to perform at get cancelled awakened me to how dire the situation had become, especially for someone like me who never takes performances for granted. I see it as an avenue to reintroduce yourself and remind your fans why they should keep betting on you. I very much miss the opportunity of being with them but hey, health is priority however.

Joeboy: One major opportunity that COVID-19 has cost me would be performing at these foreign shows, as I really looked forward to visiting all these countries, relishing all the experience that comes with travelling. And yes, the plan of visiting France to work on some features has been affected. 

Dunnie: [sighs] I was meant to travel across some Northern and Eastern states to record a project I’m working on, which of course has since been put on hold. I also should travel to some Eastern and Western African countries for work but that has been suspended and as it stands, I’m not sure what’s next. 

Blaqbonez: Other than my tour plans, ‘Rona has thwarted most performances I was really looking forward to, as during the Easter period, you know there are usually a bunch of shows going on, which is about what most rising talents live by but right now, there’s obviously nothing happening anywhere.

Jinmi Abdul:  I ought to have performed at SXSW, Texas and open for a couple artists at their US tours, all which would’ve run from March till May and would’ve introduced my music to a newer audience but here we are. Worst of the situation is how there’s no compensation whatsoever for expenses already made for preparation of these things.

What Have You Been Actively Working on Since Quarantining?

Joeboy: I’ve been doing much of TikTok, Triller and other cool ways to better connect with my fans. I’ve also been reading more books, working out, watching documentaries about the music industry and learning to play the guitar. I’ve been unto more ways of bettering my craft particularly in songwriting and experimenting with different sounds, which should be witnessed in my forthcoming sophomore project.

Dunnie: Hey, I feel attacked here because I’ve been lazing around to an extent since the lockdown order. Apart from working on a backlog of projects lined even before the lockdown which includes my [newly-released] EP, FOUR, I’ve been thinking of working out but what really is the essence of ‘summer body’ when the world is seemingly wrapping up, do you get?

Crayon: I’ve been working hard on improving my communication skill. Having done some reflection this period, it dawned on me that I need to be better at communicating with my family, [distant] friends, colleagues etc and interestingly, I’ve since witnessed some improvements. Now, I’m also more disciplined with working out and have improved on FIFA - an invitation to whom it may concern. [laughs]

Jinmi Abdul: I’m having enough time to meditate, strategize and learn. For instance, it's no secret the advent of TikTok and the others, so I’ve since been learning to understand it’s mechanics as I hope to integrate it in my marketing and promo plans moving forward.

Blaqbonez: I’ve been going harder on content creation as social media is all I have now, hence the need to make the most out of it. I’ve been doing well to hone my content creation skills and I think it’s panning out fine. One more thing, stream HABA!

Personally, What are the Likable Positives About this Lockdown?

Crayon: Actually, it has given room for more discovery of So Fine, the lead single off my debut project last year and I’m excited about what’s coming. Then, the avenue to actually sit back and have certain reflections about everything that concerns one could be a positive, because we’re so used to hustling that we forget to take these much needed breathers. This lockdown has made me cognizant of certain things about myself, my career, the industry and that to me, is important.

Blaqbonez: The only positive here personally is that it’s a period of rest. I’ve been feeling a lot healthier and more refreshed physically. 

Joeboy: Likable positives for me about this lockdown would be having more time to clear my head, think, (re)strategize etc. I also have more time to write songs though being unable to step out hit me with some creative block but I’m finding my way around it and thankfully, I recorded a lot before now. Ultimately, it’s the chance to experiment new sounds and learn more about the music industry as a whole, reading biographies, watching documentaries of successful entertainers etc.

Dunnie: Typically, I’m a homebody, so not having to go anywhere or suffer Lagos traffic is huge positive. It’s been introspective for me, as I’ve always enjoyed my own company, and deem spending more time with oneself and enjoying it is a form of self-love and self-realization. Also having to spend more time with family and just being. 

Jinmi Abdul: Well, I’ve been able to get myself a little dog which I’ve always wanted but my busy schedule didn’t allow me time to get one. Also, to have amassed royalties enough to live off during these times because depending on shows would’ve been disappointing. Thank goodness for streaming.