• The Jollof Diary
  • Posts
  • Money & Music: The Artist Who's Getting More With so Little

Money & Music: The Artist Who's Getting More With so Little

"It's encouraging seeing that I’ve not put that much funds into pushing my career but great things have just been happening"

This is Money & Music, a weekly series that chronicles the monetary intricacies of pursuing a career in music. Here, I speak to self-sufficient creatives in the music industry about the place of money in their career at relative points. Everyone has a unique budget, story, approach in navigating the tricky waters of the music business. In all, this is also lacing context to the platitudes that are bandied about regarding the “music business being a capital intensive venture”.

What’s your earliest memory of gravitating towards music?

I was obsessed with Hannah Montana and started writing cover to my favourite songs off the film. I did that with other Disney sitcoms and started writing independently in JSS3. I would create melodies and lyrics in my head that I often forget because I didn't have a phone. In SS1, I had my first studio experience through a schoolmate who featured me on a song. I remember we paid the admin of a music blog N1000 airtime to put the song up. I later recorded my first song through my then lesson teacher who had a studio at home. In 2018, I recorded my first official song and put in on Soundcloud.

Interesting; how well did it perform?

I already knew a few people prior, so they helped do some pushing and people started to become aware. Someone then referred me to a producer looking to work with a female artist. We connected and made a song together, which was the first song I had across all streaming platforms. The producer and I then met and we’ve been working closely since.

Was there some pressure of getting a degree at any point?

No. Not like I’m crazy about school but I know it's important I have a degree. I went just so it doesn't look like one is unserious with life.

When did it hit you that a career in music is capital intensive?

Honestly ehn, last year. I didn't know anything when I put out the others, as per “let’s just sing because we have voice”. By 2020, I realized eyes are on me, seeing my name on platforms I haven't even pitched to and people talking about me. I decided to be intentional in my subsequent releases then budgeting came into the picture. Thankfully, I didn't have to worry about paying for beats, recording, engineering as I already have people who do that for me free of charge. I just had to focus on packaging the music and image.

What was your first reaction on seeing some of these costs?

I was shocked, then weak. The one that burst my head was some OAPs requesting N50,000. Omo, I’d thought they’ll just play the song if they like it. That moment, I resolved to ignore radio and double down on social media engagements and streaming. I started creating covers because I want leverage, whereby I budget about N10,000 monthly to promote on IG. 

Quite a smart thing to do. Now, lets do a rundown of cost for your last [priority] release

  • Beat, recording and engineering - Free

  • Artwork - N12,000

  • Photoshoot - N10,000

  • Visual content - plans fell through

  • Distribution - The company I used doesn't take upfront payment. They take a % of royalties from the song.

  • Promotion - I didn’t do any for that release. No promo or sponsored ads. That's why I’m surprised to see platforms like Native Mag, WeTalkSound, More Branches etc. mention my name. It’s God, really because I didn't put my mind into any marketing or promo stuff. I guess my cover content is the catalyst.

  • Playlisting - I sent an email to some playlist curator who liked the song and helped put it on 2-3 playlists. I didn’t pay a dime.

What’s the most you’ve spent on branding?

Like I said, I was just putting out music, I didn't care about anything else but I’m looking into that a lot more now. However, my first attempt at it would be when I opened for a top artist during Detty December 2019. I spent about N20,000 on shoes, clothes, hair. A friend paid for my makeup, people gave me things just by hearing I was an opening act at the concert. These things contributed in making me look the way I did that day and it felt great. I’ve had quite a lot of help in my career which I’m really grateful for. This year, I want to be more deliberate, so I’m building a team of people interested in me because honestly, there’s no money. Hopefully, as we make money together, they can start taking a share.

Do you sometimes feel shaken by this shortage of funds?

Not exactly. I can only remember feeling that way after my encounter with OAPs and the amount they demanded. Some will even say you shouldn’t hit them up if you don't have money; these people are not even smiling. It’s however a reality check that if you don’t have money, there’s absolutely nothing for you.

Have you at any point been defrauded as an emerging artist?

I haven’t but something happened recently. Some guy reached out, claiming to be an A&R rep of a major label and being tasked to bring a number of artists with some deadline to beat. This happened over WhatsApp as he claimed someone gave him my number. He put it like he was offering me an ‘amazing deal’ that I shouldn’t turn down because I’m an emerging artist. He was also yarning dust about taking 80% of my advance if the deal happens. Meanwhile, this guy sent me a contract around past 2PM, pressing that I sign it because his deadline is at 5PM. Like, make it make sense. He couldn’t come up with verifiable proof that he belongs to the supposed label. I, alongside my acting manager, even probed why he would demand 80% of the supposed advance and the fool asked “what do I have to lose as an upcoming artist”. He frustratingly said we’re being difficult and are the ‘first people’ that will question him. All that rant before saying we can move on if we’re not signing the contract.

Wild!! Do you at any point think of a contingency plan?

I try not to think about it but I went to school and studied what I did. If anything happens - God forbid - I’ll revert to that. There’s always something to fall back on even if it's within the entertainment industry. 

What do you need presently that’ll likely improve your career trajectory but you actually can't afford?

Mad distribution is all I need. I just need someone that’ll distribute, playlist my music properly and get me on publications - and that’s all money. Someone was telling me how they budget about $300 for just playlisting, not even publications or promotion. Omo, to God be the glory!

How much do you think you need to cut through the noise?

I’ve never thought about it, I don't want to, it probably scares me. I might just start thinking about my life. People have pushed a song with millions and it didn't blow like that.

On a scale of 1-10, how happy are you?

About a 6/10. It's that high because given the circumstance, in terms of money I’ve put into the music, and what I’ve gotten back in return, it's quite encouraging. I’m happy about that because I’ve not had to spend a lot and I’ve grown this much in the past year. The stages I’ve been, performing for top artists and all. It's encouraging seeing that I’ve not put that much funds into pushing my career but great things have just been happening. 

Lastly, what do you take into consideration before putting out a cover

Two things. Either If I really like the song, I would just do my own rendition and I don’t bother to promote it. But because we gotta eat and have this popularity, I opt for the other which is for clout. I take into consideration if the song is new, buzzing or chart-topping. 

How much do you spend to get one out?

The beats are free because you can get them anywhere, writing is free as I write by myself, recording and engineering is free because I have guys who do that for me. The only thing I spend on is IG promo and like I said, I do two monthly, with a budget of about N5,000 each. The result has been encouraging because of the investment, and if I put more money, obviously it’d be better. Last one I did gave me over 4% increase in IG followers. The exposure, engagement, repost, saves, comments is impressive. The investment is paying off and if I put more into it, it’ll be way better.

This read will be available at 8:00am WAT every Monday. Please, email me at [email protected] if interested to discuss how you navigate being a self-sufficient creative in the music business. Interviewees are guaranteed 100% anonymity.